Morning Routines

I am kickstarting a new habit and will keep track of my progress on here. I was inspired by this article that highlights five ways to maximize morning productivity. The idea is what you do the first two hours of your day will set the course for the rest of the day, and eventually the tone on your entire life. So, here I am. I will be trying to modify the five tips to create a tailored morning routine for me! I want you to join me! (:

First, read the article.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/small-business/sb-tools/sb-how-to/five-surefire-ways-to-maximize-your-life-starting-this-morning/article19887206/

Here are my reflections and today’s entry:

1. Choose not to “snooze.”

I didn’t jump out of bed instantly this morning, but only snoozed once. Up by 11am and doing my morning skincare routine of cleansing, serum, and lotions had me feeling bright and refreshed! Not to mention, my face smells pretty awesome now.

2. Read your affirmations.

I decided it would be a great idea to stick a list of affirmations on my alarm clock. I try not to use a cellphone alarm anymore as this tempts me to check e-mails and social media messages. To start your day right, use a physical alarm clock, run to the clock and pick any one of your favourite quotes or words, and read them out loud! (I would do it in a warrior voice).

What I plan to write:

1. Every morning you have two choices: continue to sleep with your dreams, or wake up and chase them.

2. Be a warrior, not a worrier.

3. Expect greatness.

4. It’s a good day to have a good day.

5. Calm breath. Open heart. Conquer world.

6. Enjoy today. (Simple, right?)

7. Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it – Maya Angelou

3. Open a book or listen to a podcast that tackles a professional or personal challenge.

This helps to kickstart your brain and gives you a solution to practice and meditate on for the rest of the day! I would personally write a brief reflection on what I read to wrap up the day and see how effective it was.

Today, I chose an RSA Animate video to learn something new about the concept of time. The one idea that stands out is “shared time perspectives characterize nations”. The language of a culture shapes the treatment of time. This stands out to me when meeting up with friends around the globe during my travels! Stereotypes and assumptions aren’t good but observing and seeing trends can teach you the diversity and differences between cultures.

One thought on “Morning Routines

  1. Looks like you and I happened to pick a similar goal around the same time. Working on emphasizing my mornings the most these days. How you think first thing in the morning really can set the course for the rest of the day. Let’s do it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

